How to Manage Your VCS Connections with CircleCI and delete your user identity

Overview

CircleCI has introduced an important update to its Version Control System (VCS) connection management. Previously, customers were unable to delete their VCS connections with CircleCI on their own and required reaching out to the CircleCI Support Team when seeing the following "Error adding identity" Message

 

"The identity provided by your VCS service is already associated with a different account"

 

 

This was prevalent for issues such as joining the wrong organization, connecting with the incorrect GitHub user, or resolving general permissions issues - customers had to reach out to our support team for assistance.

Prerequisites

  • A user account integrated with the GitHub OAuth or BitBucket integration
    • Please note that Standalone VCS integrations such as GitHub App and GitLab are not supported at this time

Unlinking your User Identity

Moving forward, we have empowered customers with the ability to manage these connections themselves. This rights management is now conveniently located under the user's account integrations page.

 

Screenshot 2023-12-01 at 10.39.04 AM.png

Please see the steps below to disconnect your VCS connection:

  1. Navigate to your user settings page when signed in as the user which is incorrectly/previously linked.
  2. Click the red Disconnect button under the VCS section you wish to unlink for either GitHub or BitBucket.
  3. Confirm your selection and explicitly confirm this action by typing DISCONNECT in the provided field to confirm

Upon confirming the disconnect action, you will be redirected back to the CircleCI login page to log in with the account you wish to connect.

Reconnecting to Your VCS

If a user chooses to reconnect their VCS with CircleCI, they can easily do so. If a user previously signed up with Github or Bitbucket before September 2023, they simply need to login with Github to reconnect.

Screenshot 2023-12-01 at 10.39.25 AM.png

Additional Notes

  • The above VCS management functionality is currently available only for Classic (GitHub OAuth and BitBucket) organizations.
    • However, we are excited to announce that we will soon be implementing a similar set of connection and disconnection options for Stand Alone organizations (such as those connected with the GitHub App and GitLab integrations)
  • Please note that you may need to recreate any Personal API Tokens after deleting your user identity on your user settings page

Additional Resources

Was this article helpful?
1 out of 7 found this helpful

Comments

0 comments

Article is closed for comments.