Can I delete a project?

Project Deletion

Per our data retention policy, depending on your plan, we retain build data for the following periods :

  • Free Plans: 90 days
  • Performance and Custom Plans: 180 days
  • Scale Plans: 2 years

You can also set custom data retention periods for artifacts, workspaces and cache items by navigating to the Usage Controls in the Plan portal:

https://app.circleci.com/settings/plan/vcs/organisation/usage-controls

If you need a project deleted sooner than our policy outlines, please follow this guide. At this time, project deletion requests are completed by submitting a ticket via our Support Portal. Deleting a project will remove the complete build history. 

Prerequisites

To find out if you authorized through the GitHub OAuth app or the CircleCI GitHub App, see the GitHub App integration page.

GitHub OAuth

Make sure that all webhooks for your project are removed in GitHub. This Support Article describes the necessary steps. 

GitHub App

For GitHub App you will need to uninstall the CircleCI app on GitHub:

  1. Navigate to: https://github.com/settings/installations (If necessary change the org by clicking Switch to another account on the top left)
  2. CircleCI App should be shown on the page of Installed GitHub Apps tab then click Configure
  3. This should take you to the CircleCI Apps Configuration page. Scroll down to Danger Zone section and Click Uninstall which will remove the triggers sent to CircleCI.

After un-installing the CircleCI App, please wait for us to complete the deletion request. During this time, other projects using GitHub App will not build.

 

Once complete, you will need to re-install the CircleCI App in order to continue building. You can find instructions on how to re-install the CircleCI App on GitHub in our docs here

GitLab

Delete triggers and configuration in your project settings (in that order). 

Submitting a Support Ticket

Project deletion requests must be submitted or approved by an Organization Admin. Use this guide if you are having trouble identifying an org admin.

You may be asked to provide the project ID of the project you wish to have deleted. You can find that ID in your Project Settings.

Once we receive your ticket, please expect our Support Engineers to confirm the request. 

Additional Resources

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 1 found this helpful

Comments

0 comments

Article is closed for comments.